Metal Health for Mental Health 2022

Last night was an absolute banger. Being my first local scene show since Covid began made it special, and the cause it supported made it even more special. The entire show was put together to support the SCARS Foundation, a charity set up by Sully Erna of Godsmack to support those who suffer from mental health issues. It’s a cause I think most metalheads and musicians can relate to. I personally believe that music draws us in because it gives us a reprieve from the tempest raging inside our heads. Fully prepared to drink a few solid beers and listen to some great local metal, it was off to Lupulin Brewing in Big Lake.

On arrival I felt instantly at home. I remembered just how great the local metal environment feels. Metalheads are some of the kindest people one can meet, and being in a room full of them feels incredible. After checking out the silent auction table filled with anything from Minnesota Lynx or Twins tickets, to signed guitars and record players, I went and had my first real, in-person chat with Eric Keyes of Keyes Fitness Coaching (also former vocalist of Aetheric). The MC for the night who also donated some training time for the silent auction, the dude exudes positive vibes. After grabbing some food and a beer, it was time for the show to light up. And boy did it.

Every band crushed the stage with reckless abandon. It was easy to tell this show meant something to each and every one of them. Ex-Regime opened the show with an energetic performance, a perfect way to set the mood for the night to come. Their music is rhythmic and punishing, and filled with some of what we love here, double kick drums and breakdowns. The set was tight and clearly well rehearsed.

Mirror of Being graced the stage next, continuing with the high energy tone. The movement on the stage kept getting more intense as the show went on. Thick bass tones filled the crowded room, and the vocal performance was as in-your-face as I could ever ask for. Closing their set with a cover of System of a Down’s “Aerials” may have been the highlight of their set for me though. Being a huge SOAD fan growing up, the track means a lot to me. They took it and made it their own, and it was beautiful. It was transformed into a full blown metal track while retaining the impact of the original. It had me screaming right along with every word, and today I can barely speak above a mumble. Guess I have to work on those vocal mechanics.

Dreams Aside had something very special lined up for us in the crowd, aside from a killer set. They decided to raise some extra money by selling little electric tealight candles. Everyone took one and during the set lit it up and held it high to remember those we lost or those who are still here struggling with their mental health. It chokes me up now just remembering it, and there were plenty of tears shed and words choked in the moment. It was really a beautiful moment that, once again, reminded me of just how much this scene means to me and to so many of us. I won’t soon forget that moment.

Last, but certainly not least, was 9th Planet Out. These guys put on perhaps the most energetic performance of the night. The light show was intense and gave the set the vibes of being performed in a much bigger venue. They delivered a fantastic rock show to close out the night, complete with music that combines so much of the metal I came up on. The performance was rock solid, and it is impossible not to get into the show when you have tons of lights flashing everywhere while band members fly around on the stage ripping fantastic guitar licks.

I left the show reminded of what music, especially Minnesota metal, means to me. I was brought right back to my early days in the scene, appreciating every conversation I had with other musicians and fans. Shows like this are the ones you really savor and wait for. I truly hope this event continues and grows to even bigger proportions. The cause is too important to us all for something like this to fade away. As I always suggest, give all these bands a listen, you won’t regret it. If you are someone in Minnesota and haven’t had the pleasure of enjoying a beer from Lupulin Brewing, make sure you get your hands on some. Until next time, let’s keep it positive, let’s keep encouraging each other, and let’s all look out for each other. We aren’t all alone in this fight.

If you want to check out the SCARS Foundation and donate, they can be found here: https://www.scarsfoundation.org/

If you are having a crisis yourself and live in the United States, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is 1-800-273-TALK (8255), or you can find resources to help yourself or loved ones at https://www.mentalhealth.gov/.

1 thought on “Metal Health for Mental Health 2022

  1. I am so glad you had an amazing evening!!! I did as well!! As being a part of the behind the scenes for this event, hearing your words and how much it meant for you, also reminds me why being apart of something like this brings me so much joy. To create an event where you can sit back and watch how important music is, how many hearts and souls it reaches and how it brings everyone together and reminds us that we are not alone is a feeling like no other! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience and for being apart of such an amazing night!! It could not have happened without people like you to join us!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close